ThemeShaper Forums » Thematic

Accessibility & WCAG? Style Switchers?

(6 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by adrians
  • Latest reply from Chris
  • This topic is not resolved
  1. adrians

Hi,

I was just wondering how accessible Thematic is out-of-the-box and its compliance to WCAG 1.0 and WCAG 2.0 standards?

Would it be trivial to make a child Thematic theme accessible to either of the WCAG standards?

I'm quite new to WordPress development but I've seen some accessible WordPress themes (e.g. Beast-Blog v2.0 by Mike Cherim at http://green-beast.com/blog/?p=160) and have been impressed with what I have seen of Thematic thus far.

Maybe this should go in another post but I'm also wondering whether a child Thematic theme could support "style switchers" so if a user clicked on a "Remove Page Backgrounds" link the CSS would change to 'nobackground.css' (for instance) otherwise it would display the default, full-featured 'style.css'. Similarly, if a user clicked on a "Text Only" link, the CSS would change to 'textonly.css' but the default would otherwise be 'style.css'. (Hope that makes sense!)

Would this have to be done in the child themes functions.php file? Or would it require various page templates stored in the child Thematic folder?

Any thoughts or comments appreciated.

Cheers,

Adrian

Posted 5 years ago #
  2. Hey Adrian,

I need to check this first. There might be a few of things that are related to the Thematic Framework .. the major parts need to come from the child theme and from the user itself.

.. and I'll check the Theme Switcher thing.

Cheers,

Chris

Posted 5 years ago #
  3. adrians

Hi Chris,

Just wondering whether you have had any chance to look into this issue of Accessibility and style switchers yet?

Cheers,

Adrian

Posted 5 years ago #
  4. Hey Adrian,